A Woman’s Voice

This post is dedicated to Sharon Haywood for inspiring me to speak up and let my voice be heard. On Wednesday, March 16th, 2011 I will take part in Endangered Species, Buenos Aires at Centro Cultural La Cooperacion from 14:00 to 21:00. This is an international summit to promote positive body image for women in Buenos Aires and worldwide.

On Tuesday, I participated in a two hour podcast recording for BA Cast. I sat with Sharon and Ashley, who are also representing AnyBody, a non-profit organizations which looks to boost women’s body image around the world. It was quite a challenge to clearly express ideas and opinions in front of others in a more formal setting. At times, I found it difficult to make my voice firm and confident.

On our way out, Sharon asked me, “So, how do you feel about the podcast?” Even voicing my emotions around the podcast caused frustration. I wanted to be honest and strong. Why was it so hard?

This is not the first time I’ve struggled with expressing my thoughts. On a basketball team communication is key. It is important for team members to connect and read each others intentions. Verbally and physically. I’m learning how to transmit to my teammates.

At Wednesday’s practise I wasn’t understanding a certain drill on fundamental court movement between three players. I felt like I was hitting a brick wall as I kept making the same mistakes. I could see that some of my teammate were also getting frustrated at my repeated mistakes. At one point, I turned to one of my teammates, moved to tell her how I felt. Except, it couldn’t come out..

“It will take me…”

I stopped. Our coach had just started to explain the next drill. However, she met my eyes and pushed me to continue the thought.

“It will take me a bit to learn that movement.”

She smiled and nodded.

In another drill, I was challenged to produce a moving fake with the ball. It was the first time I’d attempted one and I kept wanting to stop, with both hands on the ball, and then do the fake. One my teammates was standing in as defence with a huge body pad and I was making a funny ‘I know I’m making a mistake’ face every time I came around to her to do the layup. I could see she was voicing instructions to me and at one point I actually stopped to listen to her.

“Fake with just your head and then do the layup.”

On the last round, I did it!

Everyone should practise speaking out without shame or embarrassment. Let your voice be heard. At times it is hard to ask for help, but it is amazing how much courage you can inspire in others once you do.

Leave a Reply

