The Men’s Draft

This post is dedicated to some people in my life that have been really inspirational and who follow their hearts, despite what the world around them says. They help me listen to my own heart. Thanks Mari, Cari A., and SallyCat.

The NBA draft is serious business. I watched a small behind-the-scenes feature that revealed all that goes on during this dynamic event to find the next great stars of the NBA. Most of the guys are between the ages of 18 – 21 and started playing basketball at a young age in order to be the best at a high level. Something that caught my attention was that within the drafting process, apart from looking for all the physical stats (agility, quickness, strength, power) they pay close attention to the mental characteristics of the player as well. One of the head coaches who was interviewed, mentioned that mental sharpness, competitiveness, and emotional stability must go alongside the physical.

John Wall was drafted by the Washington Wizards and he briefly spoke about how anger got him kicked off a team when he was younger. He decided that if he wanted to continue playing basketball, he had to change his attitude and that is what he did (with the help of his mom).

Next month I will be starting my own drafting process and part of me is nervous. The fact that I started playing basketball at an older age really discourages me from playing with younger women. The good news, I suppose, is that I will be going around trying different clubs and if everything goes well, I will find a place that accepts me and that I chose. However, I know I will have to work hard in order to play at the level of women my age.

We all have moments in our life where we are tested in order to reach a new level. These moments can be daunting, especially when the pressure is on and all eyes are turned to you. I will have to really believe in myself and focus my strengths, rather than worry about all I’m lacking, which seems to be my trend from the past. I think all good players have the ability to focus when it comes to these testing moments and I have to learn to do this as well.

Side note: it became very apparent to me while watching scenes from the NBA draft that it was an all men’s event, excluding a couple of women photographers. Now, this makes some sense since the whole NBA is made up of men and they know what is best for their league. I guess I’m left wondering if in the future women will coach men and vice versa because in other lower leagues we see a mix in genders for coaching.

All broadening transitions take time.

Huggg!

John Wall and David Stern (commissioner of NBA)

Gordon Hayward for Utah Jazz - last three images from http://www.huffingtonpost.com

6 responses to “The Men’s Draft

  1. I’m honoured if I’ve been inspiration for you, thank you! You really wrote about what I’ve been going through lately (in another context though); “good players have the ability to focus when it comes to these testing moments and I have to learn to do this as well.”

  2. Just what I needed to hear Cinthia: “We all have moments in our life where we are tested in order to reach a new level. These moments can be daunting, especially when the pressure is on and all eyes are turned to you. I will have to really believe in myself and focus my strengths, rather than worry about all I’m lacking … ”

    Great advice to stick on my fridge. Thanks for the inspirational and thought-provoking post.

Leave a Reply

